A Unique Silk Road Experience

Sydney, Australia (PressExposure) April 14, 2009 -- 50,000 people a month Google “Silk Road” and the numbers are increasing. Travelling the Silk Road has never been more popular. Everyone with a zest for adventure travel is heading to China before the “old China” is lost in it’s rush to modernise. Brian Lawrenson and his wife Jill recently spent three months travelling the Silk Road and have written Following Marco Polo's Silk Road that describes their adventures. It is a book about their passion for travel.

It provides an autobiographical account of their travels through the Middle East and Asia. They followed the broad route taken by the legendary Venetian explorer Marco Polo.

“There are so many wonderful places on earth that many people just don’t know exist,” Lawrenson says. “But more important than the natural environment is the diversity of the peoples, their cultures and the experiences that you have along the way.”

Starting in Venice, the book follows the Lawrenson’s adventures as they travel through Turkey, Syria, Jordon, Iran, Pakistan, Uzbekistan, Kashmir, India, Nepal and China to eventually reach Beijing. Completed over a number of years, the collected journeys include a recent account of the Taliban’s influence in Pakistan’s Swat Valley, a flash point in the ongoing struggle against extremist ideology in western Asia. This happened during a three week Jeep journey through remote parts of Pakistan.

Other experiences include riding camels along part of the Karakorum Highway in China, reaching the hard-to-find Shipton’s Arch (the world’s tallest natural arch) in China, travelling in India by taxi, crossing Iran during the Iran-Iraq war and clearing an airstrip of snow so that they could fly out. Lawrenson said “Sometimes nativity has its rewards; it adds to the intensity of the experience.”

For more information or to request a free review copy, please contact the author at blawrens@bigpond.net.au.

Following Marco Polo's Silk Road is available for sale online at Amazon.com and through wholesale and retail channels worldwide.

About the Author

Brian Lawrenson is retired. He spent his working life in IT. He was born in Yorkshire, UK, educated in South Africa, married a New Zealander and settled in Australia. They began travelling in earnest in the 1980’s with three journeys to the Himalayas and in 1988 a visit to the High Canadian Arctic. By 2008 they have travelled to more than 70 countries. Lawrenson and his wife live in Sydney, Australia.

Local Time: 18:00 EST = 08:.00 Sydney, 16:00 Pacific= 09:00 Sydney, 09:00 GMT = 18:00 Sydney

REVIEW COPIES AND INTERVIEWS AVAILABLE

About Marco Polo Press

MEDIA CONTACT
Brian Lawrenson
Phone: 612 97396464
E-mail: blawrens@bigpond.net.au
Web: http://www.marcopolopress.com

Press Release Source: http://PressExposure.com/PR/Marco_Polo_Press.html

Press Release Submitted On: April 13, 2009 at 12:47 pm
This article has been viewed 1596 time(s).