Geelong Wins And Wins Again

Port Vila, Vanuatu (PressExposure) October 07, 2009 -- Though Aussie Rules Football is a significant part of Australian culture, the Grand Final on September 26th, 2009 goes down in football history as one of the sport’s Greatest Games. Once more the Geelong Cats wrote themselves into the history books.

Geelong’s victory by 12 points, over the St Kilda Saints, was the fitting cap to a sparkling season, having outdone Collingwood’s 1927/29 all-time three year winning percentage of 86.9% wins. Geelong not only won its second premiership in three years, it also recorded its 63rd win in its last 70 games, (90% wins).

Geelong’s present run far excels its last great era, of 1951/2 when the team had 23 consecutive wins.

Geelong is the first team since Essendon in 1984, to come from behind at the three quarter mark to win. In spite of their brilliant three year performance, only four weeks ago there were many people who had written Geelong off, as being a non-premiership contender.

It was always expected that the only thing that would separate the two finely matched sides, would be the experience of the Cats, to give them the slight winning advantage. The Cats were in their third consecutive Grand Final, while the majority of the Saints were first time Grand Finalist players.

This proved to be the case, as the nail biting score clawed its way up, matched point by point. The Final being a replay of when the two teams had met in round 14, when they were separated by just one goal at the final siren.

The Saints have won 6 Grand Final games: 1913, 1965, 1966, 1971, 1997 and 2009 since beating Collingwood in 1966. The Saints have been 44 years without a premiership win.

Geelong, one of the oldest football clubs, has gone under the various names of the Geelong Seagulls, Pivotonians and Black Cats. The famous Browlow Medal for best player of the season was voted after Charles Browlow, a former Geelong secretary.

Tom W Wills, of Geelong, is regarded by many, as the founder of the game in 1856, just three years prior to the creation of the Geelong club. Since then Geelong has won eight Grand Finals: 1925, 1931, 1937, 1951, 1952, 1963, 2007, and 2009.

### Dr Wendy Stenberg-Tendys and her husband are CEO's of YouMe Support Foundation ([]) provide high school education grants for children who are without hope. You can help in this really great project by taking a few minutes to check it the Tropical Island Treasure Chest at Win a Resort ([]) It really will change your life. Feel free to contact Wendy on

About YouMe Support Foundation Child Trust Fund with Win a Resort

YouMe Support Foundation along with a Child Trust Fund are providing a high school education grant to underprivileged children who will never be able to go to high school without outside assistance.

Press Release Source:

Press Release Submitted On: October 07, 2009 at 12:12 am
This article has been viewed 34885 time(s).