ActionFest 2012 Announces a Stellar Jury Selection for the 30 Seconds of Action Contest

Asheville, NC (PressExposure) April 02, 2012 -- ActionFest has announced its first wave of films for the festival's return to the beautiful Carolina Cinema in Asheville, NC this April 12th - 15th and is now proud to announce the start of the 2012 30 Seconds of Action Contest. In order to round out the event, ActionFest has chosen a group of action film experts to act as the contest jury for the weekend.

When it comes to selecting the best films of this year's fest, ActionFest knew they had to assemble a jury who knows action cinema inside and out, and the final kick-ass jury selections for ActionFest 2012 include: Eric Vespe - "Quint" of the popular website Ain't It Cool News, Mitch Davis - General Director of Montreal's legendary Fantasia Film Festival, Borys Kit - film writer for The Hollywood Reporter and founder of Heat Vision, and Dan Guando - Senior Vice President of Acquisitions at The Weinstein Company. The 2012 jury also features local Asheville business owner and movie expert Marc McCloud, Owner of Orbit DVD and co-owner of TV Eye Video Emporium and local 105.9 The Mountain DJ Sadie.

Back by popular demand, ActionFest hosts the annual 30 Seconds of Action Challenge where film makers, stunt teams, martial art schools, and all aficionados of action in between, professional or otherwise, showcase their talent by writing, choreographing, and shooting thirty seconds of head-busting action. Three submissions will be selected and shown before screenings at ActionFest. Each finalist will receive two VIP badges for this year's festival. The ActionFest 2012 Jury will review the finalists, and award one filmmaker a grand prize! Details coming soon! For more information visit []

ActionFest will also honor legendary stuntman Mickey Gilbert (Ben Hur, The Wild Bunch) with the Lifetime Achievement Award and pioneer in women's MMA and Haywire star Gina Carano with the Chick Norris (Best Female Action Star) Award, and J.J. Perry (Warrior, Haywire) with the ActionFest Fight Choreographer of the Year Award. All-Access Badges ($100), which are good for admission to all ActionFest films and events including parties, panels, awards show and entry to the VIP Lounge, are still available at []. Single tickets (General tickets $8, Student/Senior $6, Military $7) will be on sale once the full line-up and schedule are announced the week of March 26th, 2012.

About JB Media Group, LLC

ActionFest was founded in 2010 by Bill Banowsky, Aaron Norris, Dennis Berman and Tom Quinn with the mandate to showcase the best in international action cinema and to pay respect to the brave stuntmen, stuntwomen and 2nd unit directors who make them. Colin Geddes, International Programmer for the Toronto International Film Festival, is the Festival Director. Learn more about the smashing 2012 movie lineup at [].

Press Release Source:,_LLC.html

Press Release Submitted On: April 02, 2012 at 11:44 pm
This article has been viewed 43793 time(s).