Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI)

Orissa, India (PressExposure) September 09, 2009 -- The Board of Control for Cricket in India, or BCCI, is the apex governing body for cricket in India, headquartered at Mumbai. The board was formed in December 1928 as the national governing body for all crickets in India. BCCI replaced Calcutta Cricket Club. The BCCI often uses government-owned stadiums across the country at a nominal annual rent. It is a private club consortium. Now BCCI is the wealthiest board for cricket all over the world. As a member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), it has the authority to select players, umpires and officials to participate in international events and exercises total control over them.

The BCCI organizes the following domestic cricket competitions: • Ranji Trophy • Irani Trophy • Duleep Trophy • Deodhar Trophy • NKP Salve Challenger Trophy • Corporate Trophy


In 1911, an all-India cricket team visited England for the first time, sponsored and captained by the Maharaja of Patiala, and featuring the best cricketers of the time. It was in 1926 that two representatives of the Calcutta Cricket Club traveled to London to attend a couple of meetings of the Imperial Cricket Conference, predecessor to the current International Cricket Council. Although technically not an official representative of Indian cricket, it was allowed to attend by Lord Harris, chairman of the conference. An outcome of the meeting was the MCC's decision to send a team to India, led by Arthur Gilligan, who had captained England in The Ashes. The Hindus, as well as the all-India team, performed impressively during this tour.

In December 1928, the BCCI was formed despite having only six associations affiliated to it as against the earlier-decided eight. R.E. Grant Govan was made its first president.


This is a web marketing company.

Press Release Source:

Press Release Submitted On: September 09, 2009 at 6:02 am
This article has been viewed 7362 time(s).