CunninLynguists Release Mixtape Strange Journey Volume One

Signal Hill, California (PressExposure) May 26, 2009 -- CunninLynguists are set to release a new compilation, Strange Journey Volume One (Bad Taste Records), on June 30. All songs were produced by Kno of CunninLynguists. In addition to a slew of new songs, the record features remixes, production work and interesting collaborations. The single is "Never Come Down (The Brownie Song)", which is now available digitally. A video of the first single is available on all major video portals. The mixtape features appearances by Slug of Atmosphere, Killer Mike, Khujo of Goodie Mob, Skinny Deville and Fishscales of Nappy Roots, Mac Lethal, Tonedeff, PackFM, Looptroop Rockers, Hilltop Hoods and others.

There has never been an anomaly in hip-hop quite like the southern trio CunninLynguists. Sampling genres from psych-rock to blues, new romantic to polka, they have been compared to UGK and Atmosphere in the same breath. They have toured and shared stages with Kanye West and Aesop Rock with equal success, as well as, produced tracks for Lil' Scrappy and KRS-One. The group has crafted songs with international soul superstar Cee-Lo Green and politically charged indie-favorite Immortal Technique on the same album. CunninLynguists have eschewed categories, boxes and labels for eight years, four albums, and two official mixtapes all while XXL Magazine describes them as having the "Most Hated Name In Rap".

CunninLynguists will be appearing at Soundset Festival in Minnesota on May 24 alongside artists, such as, Atmosphere, The Pharcyde, MF Doom, Immortal Technique, and Sage Francis. A headline tour for the fall set to be confirmed with Strange Journey Volume Two to be released in September/October.

About Sidecho Media

For more information from Sidecho Media, email or call 562.427.6200.
For more information from CunninLynguists, visit

Press Release Source:

Press Release Submitted On: May 26, 2009 at 1:56 pm
This article has been viewed 3120 time(s).