Ice Hockey - 2009 IIHF World Championship

Nicosia, Cyprus (PressExposure) February 09, 2009 -- The games will be played in the Post Finance Arena of Berne Schluefweg in Kloten. Berne is the stronghold of European Ice hockey and is all set to welcome the visitors to this beautiful place. This is the 73rd IIHF championship and it was held in Switzerland 11 years ago.

Participating Teams include: Group A: This team has Belarus, Canada, Hungary and Slovakia. Group B: This team has France, Germany, Russia and Switzerland. Group C: This team has Austria, Latvia, Sweden and United States. Group D: This team has Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland and Norway.

Preliminary Round: Sixteen participating teams will be placed in the following four groups. After playing a round robin, the top three teams in every group will then advance to the qualifying round while the last team will complete in the Relegation Round.

Qualifying Round: The top three in the standings of each group of the Preliminary Round advances to the qualifying round and are placed in two groups, teams from Group A compete in Group E, while teams from Groups B and C compete in the Group F. Each team is to play three games in this round, one against each of the three games from the other group with which they have been paired. These three games, along with the two games already played against the other two advancing teams from the same group in the Preliminary Round, will count in the qualifying Round standings. The top four teams in this group E and F will advance to the playoff Round.

Relegation Round: The top two teams in the standings after the round robin will be invited back to the 2010 IIHF World Cup, while the bottom two will be relegated to the 2010 division I tournament.

Broadcasting rights for the matches of IIHF championship Austria:- ORF Czech Republic:- Ceska televise France:- Sport+ Hungary:- Sport TV Russia:- VGTRK Sport Slovakia:- STV Switzerland: - German (SF zwei), French (TSR2) and Italian (TSI 2).

Dates of the Rounds: - Quarter finals: - May 6 between E1 and E4, May 6 between F1 and F4, May 6 between E2 and E3 and May 6 between F2 and F3. - Semi-Finals:- May 8 between Winner of Quarter final 1 and Quarter final 4 and the second one is also on May 8 between the winners of Quarter finals 2 and 3. - Bronze Medal Game: - May 9 between loser of semi final 1 and loser of semi final 2. - Gold Medal Game: - May 10 between winners of semi final 1 and 2.

The organization committees are expecting more than 500,000 visitors from all parts of the world. Everyone is looking forward to be a part of one of the year's greatest sports and want to experience the intensity of live world class ice hockey results. We all hope that the game entertains its fans and this event comes out to be a far-fetched one.

About ScoresPro Ltd.

Livescore by

Watch the Ice Hockey Livescore at

Press Release Source:

Press Release Submitted On: February 07, 2009 at 12:38 pm
This article has been viewed 22495 time(s).