News Of Irish Open Event 2011

San Jose, CA (PressExposure) April 18, 2011 -- The Paddy Power Irish Open has been one of the world's leading poker tournaments ever since it was launched in 1981 by Irish bookmaker Terry Rogers.

The five day showpiece is the longest running No Limit Texas Hold 'em poker tournament in Europe and second longest in the world after the World Series of Poker, Las Vegas.

The tournament has become increasingly popular and it boasts an electric atmosphere and character like no other. The poker festival is now a firm fixture on the international poker calendar and a 'must attend' for many of the top poker players in the world.

It takes place in the Burlington Hotel from Thursday 21st April - Monday 25th April 2011 and includes a growing number of side events each year providing variety for all types of poker player.

The Irish Open Main Event, a €3,200 + €300 NLH Freezeout, will kick-off at 2:00pm on Friday 22nd April and run for four days when the Irish Open 2011 Champion will be crowned on Monday 25th April. Ahead of the Main Event, a €200 + €20 NLH Re-buy Super Satellite will take place at 7:00pm on Thursday 21st April, giving people a last minute chance to win their seat in the headline event.

Fans of the tournament will be relieved to hear that we'll be streaming all the action from the Paddy Power Irish Poker Open live stream so you don't mean to miss a single hand at the world famous event and if you have a taste for poker, why not check out Paddy Power Poker provided from our site

The 2007 Irish Open Main Event was won by Belfast man, Marty Smyth who captured the title and the €650,000 first prize following a two hour heads up battle against World Poker Tour and European Poker Tour winner Roland De Wolfe.

The 2008 Irish Open Main Event was won by English poker pro Neil Channing, who won €801,400 after defeating local favourite Donal Norton of Tipperary heads up. Channing added £50,000 to his winnings by putting a £500 bet on himself at 100/1 with Paddy Power at the mid-point of the four day tournament.

The 2009 Irish Open Main Event was won by Swedish professional Christer Johansson, who won a €600,000 first prize. He beat British-Canadian Kara Scott after an entertaining heads up struggle.


The 2010 Irish Open Main Event was won by Englishman James Mitchell, who won a €600,000 first prize. He beat Irishman Paul Carr in a heads up battle where the chip lead was exchanged a number of times; Carr received €312,600 for his second place finish.

For further information about this years Irish Open live stream, please visit

Press Release Source:

Press Release Submitted On: April 18, 2011 at 4:40 pm
This article has been viewed 29941 time(s).