Spring Fling 150 Kicks-off USSA Open Wheel Racing Season at Mt Lawn Speedway May 20

Lebanon, Indiana (PressExposure) May 13, 2011 -- The Spring Fling 150 will mark the first appearance of USSA's Midgets for 2011. The 3 tenths mile tri-oval of Mt. Lawn Speedway always keeps fans on the edge of their seats due to the unique configuration of the track. Each turn is different; most notably turn 4, the "home plate" turn. Many drivers refer to Mt. Lawn as "Midget racing's only 'road' course, only with all left turns."

Mt. Lawn will see Mario Marietta start his defense of his 2010 USSA Midget Championship. Former Midget Champion Travis Young and Tate Martz are two of the drivers who have their sights set on Marietta. Martz is reuniting with car owner Greg Steele, marking the first appearance of the new Esslinger EST engine in USSA competition. The pair teamed up to dominate Ford Focus Racing as the most successful owner-driver team in Ford Focus Series history.

The May 20 Mt Lawn Speedway date will also feature a unique two segment format for the USSA Kenyon Car Midgets' second event. The Kenyon Car Midgets will race two 20 lap segments with the overall winner being determined by aggregate points earned in each segment. The segment points are 20, 19, 18, 17, 16, 15, 14 etc.

Travis Young won the Kenyon Car Midget season opener at Anderson on April 3rd. The K-Cars are making their 1st appearance of the 2011 racing season on the same racing bill as the USSA Midgets and Thunder Roadsters. Interest has been high in the Kenyon Car Division for the 2011 season as six new competitors have tested and are finalizing their plans for the season.

Justin Peck and Cordy Horn will be returning to do battle with the promising Kenyon Car Midget Rookies already committed to a full season, Jessica Bean, Rockie Piccione and Damon Harris. They will be joined for selected races by Midget Drivers Travis Young, Isaac Chapple and other surprise drivers. The 2011 K-Car Campaign promises to be an exciting one.

The big change to the USSA lineup at Mt. Lawn Speedway comes in the Thunder Roadster Division. The Thunder Roadster Division drivers will open their USSA point battle on May 20th in their first appearance at Mt. Lawn Speedway with James Edsall III starting his run for a second USSA Thunder Roadster title. The Thunder Roadsters and Legends cars will both compete in 25 lap features. To win the 2011 Thunder Roadster Championship, Edsall and the other drivers must demonstrate their skills in two types of cars.

About United States Speed Association

United States Speed Association

Press Release Source: http://PressExposure.com/PR/United_States_Speed_Association.html

Press Release Submitted On: May 13, 2011 at 3:31 pm
This article has been viewed 26137 time(s).