The Bud Collins History Of Tennis Is Latest Release From New Chapter Press

, (PressExposure) July 03, 2008 -- New Chapter Press today announced the publication of its latest book - The Bud Collins History of Tennis – the most authoritative compilation of the records and histories of tennis written by Bud Collins, the Hall of Fame tennis journalist, broadcaster and personality. Collins, the longtime columnist for the Boston Globe and a 1994 inductee into the International Tennis Hall of Fame, is regarded as the sports premier journalist and historian.

The Bud Collins History of Tennis ($35.95, 784 pages) is the ultimate compilation of historical tennis information, including year-by-year recaps of every tennis season, biographical sketches of every major tennis personality, as well as stats, records, and championship rolls for all the major events. The author’s personal relationships with major tennis stars offer insights into the world of professional tennis found nowhere else.

Among those endorsing the book include the two women who hold the Wimbledon record for most total titles (noted by Collins in the book) – Martina Navratilova and Billie Jean King – who both won 20 Wimbledon titles each in their careers. Said Navratilova, "If you know nothing about tennis, this book is for you. And if you know everything about tennis—Hah!—Bud knows more, so this book is for you too!" Said King, “We can’t move forward if we don’t understand and appreciate our past. This book not only provides us with accurate reporting of the rich tennis history, it keeps us current on the progress of the sport today."

Collins will hold his official book signings at the International Tennis Hall of Fame in Newport, R.I. during the Campbell’s Hall of Fame Tennis Championships in Newport, R.I. the week after Wimbledon as well as at the U.S. Open in New York, August 25 – September 7. The book is due in bookstores later this month, but is immediately available via on-line retailers.

New Chapter Press is also the publisher of The Roger Federer Story, Quest for Perfection by Rene Stauffer and Boycott: Stolen Dreams of the 1980 Moscow Olympic Games by Tom Caraccioli and Jerry Caraccioli.

Some of the athletes featured inthe book are Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic, Andy Roddick, Lleyton Hewitt, Goran Ivanisevic, Andre Agassi, Venus Williams, Serena Williams, Lindsay Davenport, Jelena Jankovic, Ana Ivanovic, Maria Sharapova, Justine Henin, Kim Clijsters, Amelie Mauresmo, Anna Kounikova, James Blake, Russ Adams, George Adee, Fred Alexander, Wilmer Allison, Manuel Alonso, Mal Anderson, Arthur Ashe, Juliette Atkinson, Henry “Bunny“ Austin, Tracy Austin, Lawrence Baker, Maud Barger-Wallach, Boris Becker, Kark Behr, Pauline Betz, Nancy Bolton, Bjorn Borg, Jean Borotra, John Bromwich, Norman Brookes, Louise Brough, Mary Browne, Jacques Brugnon, Butch Buchholz, Don Budge, Maria Bueno, Mabel Cahill, Oliver Campbell, Rosie Casals, Malcolm Chace, Michael Chang, Philippe Chatrier, Dodo Cheney, Clarene Clark, Joseph Clark, Gianni Clerici, Bill Clothier, Henri Cochet, Maureen Connolly, Jimmy Connors, Jim Courier, Ashley Cooper, Margaret Court, Jack Crawford, Joseph Cullman, Allison Danzig, Herman David, Sven Davidson, Dwight Davis, Lottie Dod, John Doeg, Laurence Doherty, Reggie Doherty, Dorothea Douglass Lambert Chambers, Jaroslav Drobny, Margaret duPont, Francoise Durr, James Dwight, Stefan Edberg, Roy Emerson, Pierre Etchebaster, Chis Evert, Bob Falkenburg, Neale Fraser, Shirley Fry, Charles Garland, Althea Gibson, Pancho Gonzalez, Evonne Goolagong, Arthur Gore, Steffi Graf, Bitsy Grant, David Gray, Clarence Griffin, Harold Hackett, Ellen Hansell, Darlene Hard, Doris Hart, Anne Jones, Gladys Heldman, Slew Hester, Bob Hewitt, Lew Hoad, Harry Hopman, Hazel Hotchkiss Wightman, Fred Hovey, Lamar Hunt, Joe Hunt, Frank Hunter, Helen Jacobs, Bill Johnston, Perry Jones, Bob Kelleher, Billie Jean King, Jan Kodes, Karel Kozeluh, Jack Kramer, Rene Lacoste, Al Laney, Bill Larned, Art Larsen, Rod Laver, Herbert Lawford, Ivan Lendl, Suzanne Lenglen, George Lott, Gene Mako, Molla Mallory, Hana Mandlikova, Alice Marble, Alastair Martin, Dan Maskell, Simone Mathieu, Mark McCormack, John McEnroe, Ken McGregor, Kitty Godfree, Chuck McKinley, Maurice McLoughlin, Frew McMillian, Don McNeill, Elisabeth Moore, Angela Mortimer, Gardnar Mulloy, Ilie Nastase, Martina Navratilova, John Newcombe, Yannick Noah, Jana Novotna, Hans Nusslein, Betty Nuthall, Alex Olmedo, Rafael Osuna, Mary Outerbridge, Sarah Palfrey Fayban Cooke, Frank Parker, Gerald Patterson, Budge Patty, Teddy Pell, Fred Perry, Nicola Pietrangeli, Adrian Quist, Patrick Rafter, Dennis Ralson, James Renshaw, Willie Renshaw, Vinnie Richards, Nancy Richey, Cliff Richey, Bobby Riggs, Tony Roche, Ellen Roosevelt, Mervyn Rose, Ken Rosewall, Dorothy Round, Elizbeth Ryan, Gabriela Sabatini, Pete Sampras, Arantxa Sanchez Vicario, Manuel Santana, Dick Savitt, Ted Schroeder, Gene Scott, Eleonara Sears, Richard Sears, Frank Sedgman, Pancho Segura, Vic Seixas, Frank Shields, Pam Shriver, Henry Slocum, Stan Smith, Fred Stolle, May Sutton Bundy, Bill Talbert, Bill Tilden, Tony Trabert, Lesley Turner, Jimmy Van Alen, John Van Ryn, Guillermo Vilas, Ellsworth Vines, Brian Gottfried, Virginia Wade, Holcombe Ward, Watson Washburn, Mal Whitman, Mats Wilander, Tony Wilding, Helen Wills Moody, Sidney Wood, Robert Wrenn, Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan, Todd Woodbridge, Mark Woodforde, Tim Henman, Richard Krajicek, Conchita Martinez, Patrick McEnroe among others.

Founded in 1987, New Chapter Press ( [] ) is an independent publisher of books and part of the Independent Publishers Group. Press Release Distribution By PressReleasePoint

Contact : Randolph Walker New Chapter Press Media New York, N.Y 917-770-0843 []

About New Chapter Press Media

Hall of Fame Journalist and Personality Bud Collins Pens Authoritative History and Compilation of Records

Press Release Source:

Press Release Submitted On: July 02, 2008 at 4:26 am
This article has been viewed 29026 time(s).