Yogi Berra, Mark Teixeira, RA Dickey, Chris Mullin To Receive Awards At Thurman Munson Dinner

New York, NY (PressExposure) December 14, 2011 -- New York Yankees beloved Hall of Fame catcher Yogi Berra will be joined by Yankees star first baseman Mark Teixeira, Mets standout pitcher R.A. Dickey, and newly-inducted Basketball Hall of Famer and former St. John's and N.B.A. star guard Chris Mullin as the honorees at the 32nd Annual Thurman Munson Awards Dinner on Tuesday night, January 31, at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York City, it was announced today. The gala, which remembers the late, great Yankees catcher and captain, benefits AHRC-New York City Foundation. Berra will receive the Munson Legend Award in celebration of the 50th Anniversary of the 1962 World Champion Yankees, and Teixeira, Dickey and Mullin will each receive "Thurmans." For tickets and information on the Munson Awards Dinner call 212-249-6188.

Diana Munson, Thurman's widow, will attend her 32nd straight benefit, having been involved since its inception, raising nearly $10 million to assist children and adults who have intellectual and developmental disabilities. The Thurman Munson Awards are presented for success on the fields of play and philanthropic works off the field

The AHRC New York City Foundation is a not-for-profit organization that supports programs enabling children and adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities to lead richer, more productive lives, including programs of AHRC New York City.  AHRC New York City is one of the largest organizations of its kind, serving 11,000 children and adults who have intellectual and developmental disabilities, including autism, cerebral palsy, traumatic brain injuries and other disabilities.

The list of notable athletes to previously receive the Munson Award reads like a sports "Who's Who," and includes: Yankees - Yogi Berra, Don Mattingly, Mariano Rivera, Willie Randolph, Alex Rodriguez, Jorge Posada, Robbie Cano, Bernie Williams, Bobby Murcer, Joe Torre, Joe Girardi and Nick Swisher; Mets - Tom Seaver, John Franco, Darryl Strawberry, Mike Piazza, Ron Darling, David Wright, Carlos Beltran, Keith Hernandez, Rusty Staub and Gary Carter; Basketball - Willis Reed, Oscar Robertson, Dave DeBusschere, Patrick Ewing, Walt Frazier, Earl Monroe, "Dr. J" Julius Erving, Sen. Bill Bradley, Mark Jackson, Charles Oakley, Allan Houston and John Starks.

The Legend Award has been presented periodically and its previous recipients have included: Ralph Branca and Bobby Thomson (2001) in celebration of the 50th anniversary of "Shot Heard 'Round the World"; former Mets ace relief pitcher and native New Yorker John Franco (2004) in recognition of his community service in his hometown; and former Yankee and Thurman teammate Lou Piniella (2010) upon the 30th Anniversary of the Munson Dinner.

About AHRC-New York Foundation

AHRC currently serves over 15,000 individuals with intellectual & developmental disabilities throughout the five boroughs. The array services offered by the organization is unsurpassed.

The organization that created the first schools, workshops, day treatment programs and community residences, continues to meet the needs of its individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities. We offer individuals a wide range of programs, services and supports tailored to meet their specific needs.

Press Release Source: http://PressExposure.com/PR/AHRC~New_York_Foundation.html

Press Release Submitted On: December 14, 2011 at 12:32 pm
This article has been viewed 94072 time(s).